Breaking: President Buhari drops UK and US Ambassadors, reappoints 12 new non-career Ambassadors


President Muhammadu Buhari on Thursday July 2, recommended the renewal of appointments of 12 new non-career ambassadors.

The Nigerian leader who did not renew the appointments of George Oguntade, Nigerian high commissioner to the United Kingdom, and Sylvanus Nsofor, Nigerian ambassador to the United States, congratulated those whose appointments were renewed.

In the statement published by presidential spokesperson Garba Shehu, Buhari urged ambassadors whose appointments were renewed to uphold and renew the values of stewardship to Nigeria, while also bridging good relations with other nations.

The statement partly read;

“The assurance from the president became necessary following recent complaints after the announcement of 41 non-career ambassadors that some states were not captured.

Also Read: India announces coronavirus vaccine to be tested in July

“The renewal of the appointments followed a performance evaluation, which necessitated an approval for continuation in office of the ambassadors, & the President will still decide if they will remain in their current postings.”

See the full list of ambassadors whose appointments were renewed below;


Uzoma Emenike Abia State

Yusuf Tuggar Bauchi State

Muhammad Madugu Bauchi State

Baba Jida Borno State

Uyigue Oghogho Edo State

Eniola Ajayi Ekiti State

Deborah Iliya Kaduna State

Mohammed Rimi Katsina State

Tijjani Muhammad-Bande Kebbi State

Modupe Irele Lagos State

Adeyinka Asekun Ogun State

Goni Bura Yobe State


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here